This neo-classical creation by Ernst Ziller, a bavarian architect who worked extensively in Greece after it became an independent state in the late 19th century, was built in 1895 to become the residence of Otto and Athena Stathatos, a couple of wealthy Athenians who bequeathed it to the State. Since 1991 the House has become the Museum’s new wing. A collection of Greek artefacts, property of the Academy of Athens, is on permanent show in one of the ground floor rooms. The ground floor of the building, including a charming green-house rotunda have been preserved in their original state and may be visited by the Museum’s guests. The 1st floor has been turned into exhibition space, used for the Museum’s temporary exhibitions. The entrance to the Stathatos House is from the corner of Vassilissis Sophias and Herotodou Street, although access is provided from the courtyard of main building by means of a specially designed corridor.